2.6 - Adding Tachometer

Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Isuzu

Moderator: Staff

2.6 - Adding Tachometer

Postby Steve1997Rodeo2.6 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:35 am

1997 Rodeo with 2.6L

I'm trying to figure out where to hook up the wire for an aftermarket Tachometer. I have a ground wire and illumination wires hooked up and functioning but I'm not sure where to pick up the "RPM signal". I don't know if its as simple as splicing into wires in the gauge cluster harnesses or if I need to tap into somewhere in the engine compartment. Has anyone had any luck finding the correct location to get this signal from? Any information would be great.

Thanks in advance!
Steve1997Rodeo2.6
Drives on Pavement
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Sponsor
 

Re: 2.6 - Adding Tachometer

Postby JoeIsuzu » Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:51 pm

I don't know the answer to your question, but I have to ask--
Why not pull a tach-equipped factory cluster at a local yard? In my part of the country, the yards seem to get a lot of Rodeos.

Jack
Original owner, 1983 Isuzu P'up LS Diesel. Engine overhauled by JLEMOND. Ready for new paint now!
1994 Isuzu Amigo 2wd
IsuzuPup.com
"There are no dumb questions"?! Maybe not...
but there are smart ways to ask. Old, but classic:
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
JoeIsuzu
Zu Royalty
 
Posts: 1919
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Germantown (next to Elvistown), TN
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 78 times

Re: 2.6 - Adding Tachometer

Postby Steve1997Rodeo2.6 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:18 pm

I haven't been able to find any 2.6 instrument clusters with a tach. I wish it was that easy.
Steve1997Rodeo2.6
Drives on Pavement
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: 2.6 - Adding Tachometer

Postby itsmehb » Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:43 am

I know on a Gen. one Trooper, the signal is from the distributer. I would get a wiring diagram and see if one of the wires exiting the distributer ends up at the Tach. If you don't have a tach the wire should still be there at the distributer, but you would have to run a new wire all the way to the tach. I know when I did my Weber conversion I had to attach a wire to one of the distributer wires and run it up to the tach and attach it there to one of the tach wires.
1990 Amigo, 2.3 5 speed (sold)
1991 Pick up (long gone)
2000 Amigo, 2.2 5 speed(sold)
1985 Trooper 1.9 4 speed (sent back to KS)
1989 Trooper RS 2.6 5 spd. Red

We get too soon old and too late smart!
User avatar
itsmehb
I am the Stig
 
Posts: 3053
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:39 am
Location: Lewisville Tx.
Has thanked: 116 times
Have thanks: 210 times

Re: 2.6 - Adding Tachometer

Postby JoeIsuzu » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:51 pm

Steve1997Rodeo2.6 wrote:I haven't been able to find any 2.6 instrument clusters with a tach. I wish it was that easy.

Ah, gotcha. Mostly V6 engines in the Rodeos. And I guess the 2.6 pickups were the older style because they're 1995 and earlier. I used a V6 tach cluster in my 2.6 Amigo, and I adjusted it so the idle speed was about right. But I have serious doubts that it was accurate throughout the RPM range. But it was adequate for my needs. So you may find a V6 cluster to work well enough.

Jack
Original owner, 1983 Isuzu P'up LS Diesel. Engine overhauled by JLEMOND. Ready for new paint now!
1994 Isuzu Amigo 2wd
IsuzuPup.com
"There are no dumb questions"?! Maybe not...
but there are smart ways to ask. Old, but classic:
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
JoeIsuzu
Zu Royalty
 
Posts: 1919
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Germantown (next to Elvistown), TN
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 78 times


Return to Audio & Electronics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest