DOHC to SOHC Intake

Discuss anything related to drivetrain mods here (Engine &Transmission Swaps, lift, gearing, exhaust, etc)

Moderator: Staff

DOHC to SOHC Intake

Postby Johnny V » Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:57 am

To start, I'd like to mention that I have been a well employed tech for the last 13 years(mostly performance shops, one stint for FoMoCo and one for Harley). I also don't typically join forums however this one seems a step or two better than most out there.

My question is regarding compatibility between the 6vd1 engines. I currently own an 02 Rodeo and a 96 Trooper. I've had the Rodeo for 4 years, good little truck, but I needed it to tow more than what the DOHC 6vd1 was happy with. The single most common engine swap I perform at my shop is the GM LS so I naturally went that way with it(4.8 with 5.3 crank is what I used). Its an easy, straight forward and extremely effective swap by the way. It takes almost no time and is dirt cheap. I even re-used the mua5 with a Chevy V8 to 60* bellhousing adapter and stock clutch.

What that left me with is a perfectly operational DOHC 3.2 and nothing to do with it until I found a cheap Trooper. It had blown head gaskets but I figured it was still worth the 400 bucks I paid. What I would like to know is can I use a stock SOHC intake on the DOHC heads. I'm not a big fan of that goofy butterfly set-up in the DOHC and it really does look funny. Ideally I'd like to use the SOHC lower and make a sheet metal upper along the lines of the Ford 5.0 GT40 setup. Are there any hiccups I may come across in doing this? I'm not extremely concerned about electronics, I have a Mega Squirt that's been collecting dust for the last few years I can use if I have to. Thanks.
Johnny V
Drives on Gravel

Have thanks: 1 time

Sponsor

Re: DOHC to SOHC Intake

Postby egagnon086 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:41 pm

Hey Johnny V, Please enlighten us on the simple LS swap that bolts to the Mua5. I wouldn't mind going that route when my 3.2 dies.