Should I buy this 99 Trooper

This forum is for the discussion of general Isuzu related information

Moderator: Staff

Should I buy this 99 Trooper

Postby Urbtrooper » Sat May 13, 2017 3:01 pm

In my research a lot of people say to avoid the 99 Troopers with the 3.5. But this looks to be in great condition and well kept. I am going to look at it and see how it drives. Anything I should keep an eye out for? I know about the oil burn issue, but that isn't a big deal. I'm not a mechanic, but I can do easy things like oil change, brake pads, etc.

For me, the price is way too high. If I can get it for about 5,000 that would make sense to me.

Edit: The dealer said it needs suspension "tune" and tires. I think he's putting it lightly that it needs a new suspension...but why after only 150,000 kms?

Here's the Trooper http://www.goldkey.ca/used/Isuzu/1999-I ... eb5379.htm
Urbtrooper
Drives on Pavement

Have thanks: 0 time

Sponsor

Re: Should I buy this 99 Trooper

Postby 5 th rodeo » Sat May 13, 2017 6:43 pm

i would think $5,000 ( US $3800 ) is a lot , susp/ alignment / tires / tune ? could cost a lot / easy $1000 US .

i would pass , part are drying up and very hard to find , very heavy truck with a weak transmission , also i think the 3.5l engine is a interference engine ( unlike the 3.2l ) , if the timing belt breaks so does the engine .

find a clean jeep cherokee
5 th rodeo
Zu Royalty

Have thanks: 92 times

Postby Urbtrooper » Sat May 13, 2017 6:49 pm

Hey thanks for the input. I went to look at it, and it's not that nice inside. I was drawn in by the awd/4x4, the room inside, and the leather and that it's different.

I appreciate the honesty!
Urbtrooper
Drives on Pavement

Have thanks: 0 time

Postby geoffinbc » Sun May 14, 2017 12:43 pm